day 56: taxes

It’s that time again. The deadline prepares to strike, and I am building my defenses. The IRS has me pegged, for some confusion regarding my university scholarship. The past five years I’ve been examined and squeezed and audited and fined. Here’s hoping, lacking employment, they find me spotless. I’m not sure what they can do to me this year, but I’ll definitely laugh if they find something worthy of offense. Such cleverness, to find something in nothing.

Last night I sat at tag counter vent over paperwork, carefully filling our portfolio with the numbers in the W-2s and the 1099-INTs and all those other coded forms. It’s calming in a schoolwork kind of way, but the inevitable botching I’ll do gives it the flavor of a test for which I did not study. Seeing my look of concentration (which admittedly is a “don’t you dare open your mouth in my presence, you pond scum” kind of face) A repeatedly asked if anything was wrong. I told him no of course not. He asked why I didn’t look happy.

Well, I suppose I can always work on my joy, but I think I’m in fairly good company when I say that most people don’t leap at the chance to do their taxes.

Ahh well. Only two more sheets to fill, both regarding health expenses. The toughest for last! And I’ll go ahead and smile right now; the end draws near.

We contend that for a nation to try to tax itself into prosperity is like a man standing in a bucket and trying to lift himself up by the handle.
— Winston S. Churchill

Leave a Reply

