pie

It’s Wednesday already. Not just any Wednesday, but the Wednesday before Thanksgiving, the Wednesday before the start of Christmas (or Advent, if you will.) The thrill is here, the happiness and cheer. Also, the worry, the hope that everything is in place and the knowledge that nothing really is. I count my stitches and A counts his obligations and we both count the presents that will go under the trees.

Little boom and bean are too young to count, and their innocence is calming. They help me remember what Christmas is really about: a sweet child, away in a manger. But I’m getting ahead of myself. Tonight, the night before Thanksgiving, is really only about one thing: pie.

And what pies! There will be apple and blueberry and pecan and a very very very special pumpkin that my dear dad is making just for me.

Leave a Reply

